2017 Writing Update #1

Why Hello!

I’m new to this whole blogging thing, but if you follow me on twitter, you’ll know that I’ve been talking about writing a book. I’ve written numerous manuscripts in the past (4 in total), but only two of them do I consider good enough to dive into for rewrites and future query-letter makers. Those two novels are (with temporary titles) Echoes which I wrote over 11 weeks in the summer of 2015, and Dragon Elements, which I wrote half at age 13 and the other half at 16.

For 2017, I’m taking on the massive undertaking of rewriting Dragon Elements. The original manuscript was 101,000 words (quite impressive for writing at 13 and 16) and the idea was so entirely original and I love the characters so much (honestly they are my literal children) that I decided to revamp it, expand the thin subplots and mature it up a little bit. Over the past three months, I’ve reread the original manuscript, made some major changes to the main characters and recently wrote a lose plot summary outline.

Needless to say, I’m stoked to actually start writing. And yet I’m also a little scared. I know the book will be entirely different from the original and I’m having a hard time letting it go. I know I will always have the original text I wrote to be nostalgic about, but there’s something about getting rid of your work and starting new that is quite terrifying. I’ve never been good at rewriting and editing, so I’ve really undertaken something out of my comfort zone. I hope that the story will be different enough and mature enough for me to realize that it’s okay to make all of these changes. I can always scrap it once I’m done anyway!

Leave a Reply

